Get down to… Haileybury!!!

Haileybury College

Hello everyone!

My name is Juli Sànchez. I am a 21 year-old (male) Catalan activity leader. Although I currently live in Cerdanyola, where I am completing my English Philology studies in the Autonomous  University of Barcelona, I actually come from Hostalric, a little village in Catalonia. Compared to Cerdanyola (which is Barcelona’s neighbour city), Hostalric is a small  village (approximately 5,000 inhabitants), and is situated in the Costa Brava. I come from a family of 4: My parents, Julio and Fina, are employed and run a small company in Hostalric. I have 1 sister named Maria. I am the eldest, she is almost 18 years old and I love playing with and caring about her.
In about one years time I plan to pursue a masters’ degree, but I am yet to make up my mind concerning my future area of specialization. So, at the moment, I  am taking some time in language schools to have a different life experience and to have time to calmly reflect on my future academic/professional orientation. To this end, I think spending some time abroad would be particularly interesting and it would be great if it  can be shared with you. I am sure it will be a blast!
My first language is Catalan but I am also fluent in Spanish and Italian. I started learning German in primary school, and it was also the language of
instruction in the secondary school I attended but… When I started learning English I knew for sure that this would be the language of my life… Actually, I am doing a degree on it and I want to be an English teacher in the future. I have in addition been taking courses taught in English at university and outside it. I am nevertheless aware that learning a language within a classroom context is by itself, incomplete. So, in order to really be at ease in English, I feel that a cultural immersion would do a lot of good. Through my language teachers, (most of whom are British) I have learnt a lot about the British Islands, the English and life in Ireland and Great Britain. Hence my desire to have firsthand experience of English life.
When it comes to child care experience, I have looked after children in both formal and informal contexts. Last summer, I worked for an English academy and I have been teaching English since then. My students are aged from 3 years old to 50 years old so I have no problem on working with neither children nor adults. Among others, I provided after-school tuition to children aged between 3 to 16 years. I also organized for them
and took part in recreational indoor and outdoor activities in something that we call  “splay” or “casal”: we sang, danced, played games, role played, drew, painted, cooked and narrated stories. We also visited the public library.
I have helped my parents to look after my sister since birth. Although my looking after them is now restricted to my university vacations, as a teenager, I was nevertheless much more involved in caring for them on a daily basis. In addition, I have two lovely cousins aged 5 and 9 who I spend a lot of time playing with, so from time to time I find myself in their ever animated company. I can comfortably say that I sincerely enjoy
spending time with them.
When it comes to leisure, I take pleasure in the simple things in life. I enjoy being outdoors, being with my friends, going for walks and runs, visiting places I have not been to and reading a good book or watching a film. I also enjoy painting and on dull or rainy days, I often propose drawing and painting activities to sister and cousins whenever they come for company. Did I already mention that I love to write? At my village there is a writing competition organised and I won it 4 years in a row.
I would be happy to have the opportunity to speak with you: to answer whatever questions you may have about me, to learn more about you; your interests and to know more about what you expect from me as an activity leader.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Your faithfully,
Juli Sànchez

Sent from my iPhone,
Juli Sànchez

Have a nice day!

Here you can have some pics of myself and my passions… Start the gossiping!!! (CLICK ON THE NAME)